TURTLE ISLAND.

Project to preserve the most endangered vertebrates on our planet.

Email:  office@turtle-island.at

Phone: +43 680 211 50 82

© 2019 by Turtle Island.  |  Help now.  |  Contact.  |  Impressum.

Our Team.

Our Team.

We operate on a global scale.

Our international ‘TURTLE ISLAND Team’ is doing introductions. Different reasons have brought us together and a common purpose unites us.

Peter_Praschag_Turtle_Island.png
Ph. D.  Peter PRASCHAG
Founder of Turtle Island, 
Board of Directors

Study of Biology and Zoology at the Karl-Franzens-University of Graz. Masters thesis and Ph.D. dissertation completed on ecology, taxonomy and phylogeny of South Asian turtles.

Turtle Team -2.jpg
Dipl.Ing. Dr.  Reiner PRASCHAG
Founder of Turtle Island, 
Board of Directors

Studied Architecture at the Technical University Graz. Masters thesis on Zoo Architecture. Ph.D. dissertation on aquarium and terrarium construction. In over 40 years, he has built up one of the world’s largest and most important turtle collections with over 100 species in Graz, and is supported by his son Peter.

Turtle Team -12.jpg
Dr. med. vet. Shannon DIRUZZO
Board of Directors

Shannon received her Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine from Colorado State University in 2001.  After vet school, she moved to Alaska where she established Alaska Veterinary Relief Services, LLC, practicing veterinary medicine at numerous urban and rural clinics and The Alaska Zoo.

Turtle-Island_Team_04-X1_Alexander-Olek.
Board of Directors

Dr. Olek started his career in the life sciences at Imperial College, followed by PhD studies in the department of Prof. Thomas Trautner. He is the author of tens of patents and highly ranked scientific publications, was named Entrepreneur of the Year in 2001 and “Gründer des Jahres” (Founder of the Year) in 2002.

Turtle Team -11 neu_edited.jpg
Julia LAMPRECHT MSc.
Team, Zoological Curator

Julia has a degree in Biology, focusing on Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Since 2013, she has devoted herself to all of the animals at Turtle Island. 

Turtle Team 24
Lisa MARSCHNIG
Team, Zoo Keeper in training

I am currently in training as a Zoo Keeper at Turtle Island and could not be happier. I now have the privilege of caring for these wonderful animals every day!

Turtle Team -16.jpg
Rupali GOSH
Team

Rupali graduated from Calcutta University with a degree in Bio-Science.She is presently working with the Vienna Zoo for Project Batagur. 

IMG_20190406_161645_edited.jpg
Verena HÖLBLING
Team

As a Biology student, I always had an overwhelming love for animals, whether with fur, scales or shells. As such it is a great honor for me to be able to support an organization like Turtle Island. Right now, I am a part of the web design team.

Turtle Team -13.jpg
Herbert BECKER
Advisory Board

Since as early as I can remember I have been occupied with the care and breeding of numerous turtle species. I focused on North American turtles, specifically Glyptemys insculta, Clemmys guttata and musk turtles (Sternotherus).

Turtle Team -10.jpg
Torsten BLANCK
Advisory Board

East Asia is his focus of field research. His goal is to be able to have viewed every single East Asian species in the wild. Currently, the main focus is on the field detection of Cuora zhoui, the rarest Cuora species that is known since 1990 to science, but never could be recorded from the wild so far.

Turtle Team -15.jpg
Richard GEMEL
Advisory Board

Born in Vienna, Richard studied Biology and Physical Education at the University of Vienna.In his early years, he developed a strong interest in amphibians and reptiles. During one of his trips, he and Peter Praschag found a turtle shell in Assam. This turtle turned out to be a new species and was named Cyclemys gemeli in honor of him.

Turtle Team -14.jpg
Gregory GEORGE
Advisory Board

After a career as a zoo and aquarium Herpetologist and a lifelong field study of reptiles and amphibians, Gregory George established Gregory George Designs, LLC. He specializes in the design and fabrication of naturalistic habitats for amphibians, reptiles, fish and small mammals.

Turtle Team -17.jpg
Irmi HÄGER
Advisory Board

I received a university degree in business management (M.B.A.) in Cologne. Since 1995, I have been working with turtles. Currently,  I deal in particular with the breeding of South African tortoise species, Homopus, Chersina and Psammobates.

Turtle Team -19.jpg
Ph.D. Brian D. HORNE
Advisory Board

Brian completed his Ph.D. at Ohio University, studying the developmental biology of Neotropical freshwater turtles. Brian currently coordinates the Wildlife Conservation Society’s (WCS) global tortoise and freshwater turtle conservation programs. 

Turtle Team -20.jpg
Till IPSER
Advisory Board

Specifically in recent years, Till has focused on captive breeding of wild endangered turtles, native species and giant salamanders.

Turtle Team -22.jpg
Waltraud PAULER
Advisory Board

I placed most of our turtles on a breeding loan to Turtle Island because I am convinced that Turtle Island has the capacity to successfully breed endangered turtles, which will contribute to their conservation.

Turtle Team -18.jpg
M.D., Ph.D. Walter SACHSSE
Advisory Board

For many years I was a Professor of Genetics / Biology and a M.D. specialist for internal medicine; I am now retired. My main goals have always been and will continue to be reproduction biology, and to guarantee this physiology and medicine.

Turtle Team -21.jpg
Roland ZIRBS
Advisory Board

 I care for and treat all turtles with the same dedication and commitment.

In my opinion, turtles have the intense olfactory sensitivity of snakes and the intelligence of birds. We are dealing with a very sophisticated group of animals.

Turtle Team 24_edited.jpg
Rainer GÖLLNER
Volunteer

Since Rainer was a child, reptiles and especially turtles have been his favorite animals. He is equipped with all conceivable tools of all sizes and uses them in his spare time for projects of all kinds.

Turtle Team 25
Franz HÖDL
Volunteer

Franz was involved in every aspect of the Botanical Garden in Graz until his retirement. Because retirement is not in his nature (vocabulary), he has taken over all technical tasks at Turtle Island and become a specialist in filtration, pumping technology, and heating.

Logo_Turtle-Island_FAVICON.png
Andrea BÄCKENBERGER
Fundraising / Back Office

Text coming soon.

Logo Original Aktuell - No Background -

TURTLE ISLAND.

Projekt zur Erhaltung der am stärksten bedrohten Wirbeltiergruppe unseres Planeten 

Email:  office@turtle-island.at

Phone: +43 680 211 50 82

© 2019 by Turtle Island.  |  Jetzt Helfen.  |  Kontakt.  Impressum.

Unser Team.

Unser Team.

Wir sind weltweit im Einsatz.

Unser internationales "TURTLE ISLAND Team" stellt sich vor.

Verschiedenste Gründe haben uns zusammen gebracht, ein gemeinsames Ziel hat uns vereint.

Peter_Praschag_Turtle_Island.png
Mag. Dr.  Peter PRASCHAG
Gründer von Turtle Island, Präsidium

Studium der Biologie und Zoologie an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz. Diplomarbeit und Dissertation über Ökologie, Taxonomie und Phylogenie südasiatischer Wasserschildkröten.

Turtle Team -2.jpg
Dipl.Ing. Dr. Reiner PRASCHAG
Gründer von Turtle Island, 
Präsidium

Architekturstudium an der TU Graz. Diplomarbeit über Zoo-Architektur, Dissertation über Aquarien- und Terrarienbauten. In gut 40 Jahren hat er in Graz – mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung seines Sohnes Peter – eine der weltweit größten und bedeutendsten Schildkrötensammlungen mit über 100 Arten aufgebaut.

Turtle Team -12.jpg
Dr. med. vet. Shannon DIRUZZO
Präsidium

Shannon hat an der Colorado State University 2001 Veternärmedizin studiert. In Alaska arbeitete sie für die “Alaska Veterinary Relief Services LLC”, praktizierte als Tierärztin in mehreren Praxen und zehn Jahre im Zoo von Alaska.

Turtle-Island_Team_04-X1_Alexander-Olek.
Präsidium

Dr. Olek begann seine Karriere in Biowissenschaften am Imperial College, gefolgt von einem Doktorat in der Abteilung von Prof. Thomas Trautner. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Patente und hochrangiger wissenschaftlicher Publikationen, wurde 2001 zum Unternehmer des Jahres und 2002 zum Gründer des Jahres gekürt.

Turtle Team -11 neu_edited.jpg
Julia LAMPRECHT MSc.
Team, Zoologische Kuratorin

Ich studiere Ökologie und Evolutionsbiologie auf der KF-Uni Graz. Bei Turtle Island bin ich für die Pflege der Tiere zuständig. Am wichtigsten ist mir dabei, dass es den Tieren gut geht und sie sich bei uns wohl fühlen.

Turtle Team 24
Lisa MARSCHNIG
Team, Tierpfleger Lehrling

Momentan mache ich die Ausbildung zur Tierpflegerin bei Turtle Island und könnte glücklicher nicht sein: ich kann mich nun tagtäglich um all diese wundervollen Tiere kümmern!

Turtle Team -16.jpg
Rupali GOSH
Team

Rupali hat einen Abschluss in Naturwissenschaften an der Calcutta University. Heute lebt sie in Gujarat in Nordwestindien und koordiniert Artenschutzprojekte in Südasien und ist Vollzeitmitarbeiterin des Tierparks Schönbrunn.

IMG_20190406_161645_edited.jpg
Verena HÖLBLING
Team

Als Biologie- Studentin hatte Ich schon immer eine übermäßige Liebe zu Tieren, egal ob mit Fell, Schuppen oder Panzern. Momentan bin ich ein Teil des Teams, welches für den Web-auftritt zuständig ist. 

Turtle Team -13.jpg
Herbert BECKER
Fachbeirat

Seit meiner frühsten Jugend beschäftige ich mich mit der Haltung und Zucht diverser Schildkrötenarten. Meine Schwerpunkte dabei liegen einerseits auf den nordamerikanischen Sumpfschildkröten (insbesondere Glyptemys insculta und Clemmys guttata), sowie auf den Moschusschildkröten.

Turtle Team -10.jpg
Torsten BLANCK
Fachbeirat

Ostasien ist der Schwerpunkt seiner Feldforschung. Torstens Ziel besteht darin, jede ostasiatische Art in freier Wildbahn erforscht haben zu können. Derzeit liegt das Hauptaugenmerk auf dem Feldnachweis von Cuora zhoui, der seltensten Cuora-Art, die der Wissenschaft zwar seit 1990 bekannt ist, aber noch niemals in der Natur beobachtet wurde.

Turtle Team -15.jpg
Richard GEMEL
Fachbeirat

Geboren Wien, Studium an der Universität Wien in Biologie und Leibesübungen. Schon früh galt sein Interesse den Amphibien und Reptilien. Die Schildkrötenart Cyclemys gemeli wurde ihm zu Ehren benannt. Diese Schildkröte fand er gemeinsam mit Peter Praschag in der indischen Region Assam

Turtle Team -14.jpg
Gregory GEORGE
Fachbeirat

Nach einer Karriere als Zoo- und Aquarienherpetologe und lebenslangen Feldstudien an Amphibien und Reptilien gründete Gregory das Unternehmen „Gregory George Designs, LLC”. Er spezialisiert sich auf das Design und die Herstellung von naturgetreuen Lebensräumen für Amphibien, Reptilien, Fischen und Kleinsäugern.

Turtle Team -17.jpg
Irmi HÄGER
Fachbeirat

Nach einem Studium der Betriebswirtschaft in Köln beschäftigte sich Irmi Häger mit Amphibien, insbesondere Kröten und Salamandern. Aktuell beschäftig sie sich insbesondere mit der Zucht von südafrikanischen Landschildkröten

Turtle Team -19.jpg
Ph.D. Brian D. HORNE
Fachbeirat

Brian absolvierte sein Doktorat über die Entwicklungsbiologie neotropischer Süßwasserschildkröten an der Ohio University. Zur Zeit koordiniert Brian das globale Landschildköten- und Süßwasserschildkrötenschutzprogramm der „Wildlife Conservation Society“ (WCS).

Turtle Team -20.jpg
Till IPSER
Fachbeirat

Till Ipser widmete sich in den vergangenen Jahren der Erhaltungszucht von in freier Wildbahn ausgestorbener Schildkröten. Weitere Schwerpunkte seiner Tüchtigkeit bildeten einheimische Tierarten und Riesensalamander.

Turtle Team -22.jpg
Waltraud PAULER
Fachbeirat

Ich pflegte und züchtete gemeinsam mit meinem Mann, Ingo Pauler Wasserschildkröten. Ingo Pauler, der im Februar 2014 gestorben ist, war ein bekannter Herpetologe und hatte ein sehr fundiertes Wissen über Fauna und Flora. Ich habe Peter Praschag unsere Schildkröten zur Verfügung gestellt, weil ich überzeugt bin, dadurch einen Beitrag für eine erfolgreiche Erhaltungszucht von bedrohten Schildkröten zu leisten.

Turtle Team -18.jpg
Prof. Dr. Walter SACHSSE
Fachbeirat

Professor für Genetik / Biologie, Facharzt für Innere Medizin, in Pension. Die wesentlichen Ziele waren immer: Fortpflanzungsbiologie, sowie absichernde Physiologie und Medizin – und das werden sie immer bleiben.

Turtle Team -21.jpg
Roland ZIRBS
Fachbeirat

Ich mache keinen Unterschied und behandle alle Schildkröten mit der gleichen Hingabe und dem gleichen Engagement. Egal ob es eine verkühlte, ausgesetzte Trachemys/Chrysemys oder ähnlich Allerweltliches ist oder eine extrem seltene und/oder heikle Art, alle haben meine gleiche Aufmerksamkeit, Zuneigung, Pflege und Freude.

Turtle Team 24_edited.jpg
Rainer GÖLLNER
Freiwilliger Helfer

Rainer ist mit allen denkbaren Werkzeugen aller Größenordnungen ausgestattet und setzt diese in seiner Freizeit bei Projekten aller Art ein.

Turtle Team 25
Franz HÖDL
Freiwilliger Helfer

Franz war bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Botanischen Garten in Graz tätig und wurde hier fast universal eingesetzt. Da seiner Natur ein Ruhestand zuwider ist, hat er bei Turtle Island alle technischen Aufgaben übernommen und wurde zum Spezialisten für Filtration, Pumptechnik und Heizung.

Logo_Turtle-Island_FAVICON.png
Andrea BÄCKENBERGER
Fundraising / Back Office

Text folgt.

Logo Original Aktuell - No Background -