TURTLE ISLAND.

Project to preserve the most endangered vertebrates on our planet.

Email:  office@turtle-island.at

Phone: +43 680 211 50 82

© 2019 by Turtle Island.  |  Help now.  |  Contact.  |  Impressum.

Turtle Trafficking in South Asian Food Markets.

"Turtles are exploited worldwide. "

 

Turtle Trafficking in South Asian Food Markets

Turtles are exploited worldwide. They are not only sold en masse in the international pet trade; but in many countries, they remain an important protein source to this day.

.In many places, turtle meat and eggs are regarded as a delicacy and are widely used in traditional medicine. In the last decades, the economic growth of south Asian countries has been astounding. The purchasing power of the population has likewise increased, and there are now more people who can afford these relatively expensive goods.

How big is the threat?

Every year, the Bengal population celebrates the ‘Kali puja‘. The feared goddess Kali is worshipped by performing tantric rites and chanting mantras and performing animal sacrifices (especially turtles). For the Kali Puja in 2013, in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, about 30,000 turtles were butchered.

Turtles are not only eaten in large quantities in China and other ‘exotic’ countries. In the middle ages, the European pond turtle was widely enjoyed as a delicacy during fasting periods in Western Europe. To this day, countless turtles are still eaten in the US, either farm-reared animals or turtles that have simply been taken from the wild. In South Asia, turtle eggs have been collected, and turtles have been consumed for a long aeons.

Our TURTLE ISLAND Project.

TURTLE ISLAND buys protected species from fishermen and releases them back in protected wildlife habitats or includes them in breeding projects.

We systematically purchase very rare turtle species before they end up on markets. We are in no way increasing demand for turtles in this way. In Bangladesh, about 50,000 fishermen are out and about every day, catching every turtle they can get their hands on in the ponds, lakes and rivers.

"In order to carry on this great work, we need your help."

Mag. Dr. Peter Praschag

Founder of Turtle Island

Logo Original Aktuell - No Background -

TURTLE ISLAND.

Projekt zur Erhaltung der am stärksten bedrohten Wirbeltiergruppe unseres Planeten 

Email:  office@turtle-island.at

Phone: +43 680 211 50 82

© 2019 by Turtle Island.  |  Jetzt Helfen.  |  Kontakt.  Impressum.

DER KAMPF GEGEN

SCHILDKRÖTEN-HANDEL.

"Schildkröten werden weltweit ausgebeutet."

 

Der Kampf gegen 

Schildkröten-Handel.

Schildkröten werden weltweit ausgebeutet. Sie werden nicht nur massenweise im internationalen Tierhandel vermarktet, sondern sind in vielen Ländern auch heute noch eine wichtige Eiweißquelle.

Vielerorts werden Schildkrötenfleisch und Schildkröteneier als Delikatesse angesehen und finden in traditionellen medizinischen Lehren rege Anwendung. In den letzten Jahrzehnten konnte die Wirtschaftskraft südasiatischer Länder ein erstaunliches Wachstum verzeichnen. Damit hat sich die Kaufkraft der lokalen Bevölkerung, die sich diese vergleichsweise teure Ware leisten kann, vervielfacht.

Wie groß ist die Bedrohnung?

In Bangladesch werden immer wieder seltene Schildkrötenarten in aller Öffentlichkeit geschlachtet und zum Verkauf angeboten. Zur „Kali Puja“ – einem Fest für die gefürchtete Göttin Kali – wurden im Jahr 2013 alleine am Tanti-Bazar, mitten im Zentrum von Dhaka, der Hauptstadt von Bangladesch, geschätzte 30.000 Schildkröten geschlachtet.

Nicht nur in China und anderen „exotischen“ Ländern werden Schildkröten in großen Mengen verzehrt. So wurde die Europäische Sumpfschildkröte im Mittelalter als Fastenspeise in Mitteleuropa sehr geschätzt. Noch heute bereichern unzählige Schildkröten in den Vereinigten Staaten die Speisekarte, in Farmen gezüchtet oder einfach der Natur entnommen. Auch in Südasien haben das Absammeln von Schildkröteneiern und der Verzehr von Schildkröten eine lange Tradition.

Unser TURTLE ISLAND Projekt.

TURTLE ISLAND kauft Fischern bedrohte Spezies ab, lässt sie wieder in geschützten Gebieten frei oder integriert sie in Erhaltungszuchtprojekte.

Wir kaufen gezielt sehr seltene Schildkröten, bevor sie auf den Märkten angeboten werden. Damit vergrößern wir keineswegs die Nachfrage, in Bangladesch sind geschätzte 50.000 Fänger täglich auf Beutezug und fischen  aus Teichen, Seen und Flüssen jede Schildkröte, deren sie habhaft werden können.

"Damit diese großartige Arbeit fortgesetzt werden kann brauchen wir ihre Hilfe."

Mag. Dr. Peter Praschag

Gründer von Turtle Island

Logo Original Aktuell - No Background -