slider-home_turtleisland-02

We all live on a "Turtle Island" ...

Welcome!

slider-home_zoo-neu_01

In Planning: our ZOO!

Nature Conservation

Research

Education

Recreation

slider-news_morenia_petersi_hatchling_1

NEWS.

March 2016

The world’s first breeding success

of the Indian Eyed Turtle

We all live on a Turtle Island. Kalmyks and Mongols tell of a turtle carrying the world, and the Hindus know that their God Vishnu became in his second incarnation Kurma, a turtle that swam in the sea of milk and carried the world on his back. In New Guinea, the story is told that this island owes its existence to a hardworking turtle that dove into the depths of the primordial ocean and brought back rocks, sand and all ingredients necessary to create an island.

The continent, which we now call North America, was created in a similar way, according to the Ojibway, the Anishabe, the Iroquois, Haudenosaunee, Apache, the Cherokee, the Wyandotte, the Wampanoog, the Lenape, the Maidu, the Patwin of California and many other North American tribes, like to call their land turtle island.

Everything that lives; everything that moves on feet, fins, or wings; and everything that breathes with lungs, gills or through the skin lives on a Turtle Island. Life on the island is defined by what lives on the island. To paraphrase Marcel Robischon: Vom Verstummen der Welt, every walk of life is a walk across the green back of a turtle, which when translated means that the world is becoming more silent as biodiversity disappears.

Marcel Robischon: From the Silence of the World

Welcome to Turtle Island

The Zoo.

Support us in our zoo project: Currently 125 turtle species are maintained in the private collection of the family Praschag. In near future we plan to establish Turtle Island – a modern and attractive animal exhibit linked with landscape design, creative arts, research, education and recreation.

Conservation.

In our Zoo in Graz we round up assurance colonies of threatened, almost extinct, species. We do our best to reintroduce captive bred specimens into their natural habitat. A real challenge!

Support!

Support our project!
In order to realize our projects, we depend on the help of many patrons and sponsors. Every donation and every contribution is welcome. Thank you!

Zoo and Conservation Breeding Center

Turtle Island combines a scientifically operated conservation breeding station with attractive, modern exhibits of living animals, combining …

  • landscape design,
  • creative arts,
  • research,
  • education and
  • recreation.

News

news_schlupf-spixii
news_baska-satellite-transmitter
news_baska-eier

24 fertile eggs of our Northern River Terrapin, a new record!

/
Even earlier than last year, our Batagur baska female laid a…

Insight to our projects worldwide

Turtles are the most threatened vertebrate group with 57% either extinct or threatened with extinction, followed by the amphibians with 40% of their total species considered endangered.

A goal of Turtle Island is to expand our already existing network in cooperation with other ex-situ institutions at home and abroad, and further relations and support for in-situ projects.

About TURTLE ISLAND

Mag. Dr. Peter Praschag

Our project is an ex-situ (outside their natural habitat) protection measure for highly endangered species. For species with very few survivors, a managed breeding program with expert human care is the only way to preserve the species for the future.

Mag. Dr. Peter PraschagFounder of Turtle Island
DI Dr. Reiner Praschag

In over 40 years, he has built up one of the world’s largest and most important turtle collections with over 100 species in Graz, and is supported by his son Peter. Many species in their collection are threatened today and are important assurance colonies for their long-term survival.

DI Dr. Reiner PraschagFounder of Turtle Island
Dr. Dagmar Schratter

The promotion of the idea of conservation, creation of a higher nature, environmental awareness, active participation and accomplishment of nature and wildlife conservation projects are today a central concern of zoos.

Dr. Dagmar SchratterDirector of the Vienna Zoo
Prof. Dr. Helmut Pechlaner

The present project is fascinating and deserves support from all. It provides a unique attraction for the citizens and guests of the city of Graz …

Prof. Dr. Helmut PechlanerHonorary President of WWF, Austria

THANK YOU to our partners …

Slide background

Wir leben alle auf einer "Turtle Island" ...

Herzlich willkommen!

Slide background

In Planung: unser ZOO!

Schautierhaltung

Forschung

Bildung

Erholung

Slide background

NEWS.

März 2016

Welterstnachzucht der

indischen Pfauenaugen-Sumpfschildkröte

Wir alle leben auf einer „Turtle Island“, auf einer Schildkröteninsel …
Kalmücken und  Mongolen erzählen von einer die Welt tragenden Schildkröte, und die Hindus wissen, dass ihr Gott Vishnu in seiner zweiten Inkarnation zu Kurma wurde, einer Schildkröte, die im Milchmeer schwimmt und auf dem Rücken die Welt trägt. Auf Neuguinea erzählt man die Geschichte, dass diese Insel ihre Existenz einer fleißigen Schildkröte verdankt, die in die Tiefe des Urmeeres tauchte, bis ganz nach unten, und Felsen, Sand und was es eben sonst noch so braucht, um eine Insel zu bauen, aus der Tiefe herauftauchte – bis die Insel selbst emporragte.

In ähnlicher Weise wurde auch der Kontinent, den wir heute Nordamerika nennen, erschaffen. So erzählen es die Ojibway und Anishabe, die Iroquois, Haudenosaunee, Apachen und Cherokee, die Wyandotte (die Leute von der Insel) ebenso wie die Wampanoog, die Lenape, die Maidu und die Patwin Kaliforniens und viele andere nordamerikanische Stämme, die ihre Insel daher gerne „Turtle Island“ nennen.

Alles, was lebt, alles, was auf Füßen oder Flößen, Flossen oder Flügeln wandert, und alles, was atmet, sei es durch Lungen oder Kiemen, durch Tracheen oder durch die Haut, wir alle leben auf einer Schildkröteninsel. Das Leben auf der Insel definiert sie, anhand dessen, was auf der Insel lebt, wissen wir, woher wir kommen und wohin wir gehen, was wir sehen, und  wovon wir erzählen, und jede Wanderung ist eine Wanderung über die grünen Rücken von Schildkröten.

Marcel Robischon: Vom Verstummen der Welt

Willkommen bei Turtle Island

Entdecken.

Entdecken und erleben Sie in unserem Zoo die Vielfältigkeit an Schildkröten. Zur Zeit pflegen wir 110 Schildkrötenarten und Unterarten. Besuchen Sie Turtle Island – moderne Schautierhaltung verknüpft mit Landschaftsgestaltung, kreativer Kunst, Forschung, Bildung und Erholung.

Erhalten.

Wir versuchen mit unserem Zoo und der Erhaltungszuchtstation in Graz bedrohte, fast schon ausgestorbene, Arten zu erhalten und nachzuziehen um diese wieder in ihren ursprünglichen Lebensraum zurückzubringen. Eine echte Herausforderung …

Unterstützen!

Unterstützen Sie unsere Vorhaben!
Um unsere Projekte realisieren zu können, sind wir auf die Hilfe vieler Förderer und Sponsoren angewiesen. Jede Spende und jeder Beitrag ist willkommen.  DANKE!

Zoo- und Erhaltungszuchtstation

Turtle Island kombiniert eine wissenschaftlich geführ­te Erhaltungszuchtstation, mit einer modernen Schautierhaltung – verknüpft mit …

  • Landschaftsgestaltung,
  • kreativer Kunst,
  • Forschung,
  • Bildung und
  • Erholung.

News und Aktuelles

Einblicke in unsere weltweiten Projekte

Schildkröten sind die am meisten vor dem Aussterben bedrohte Wirbeltiergruppe (57 % sind entweder bereits ausgestorben oder vom Aussterben bedroht, gefolgt von den Amphibien mit 40 % gefährdeten Arten).

Das Ziel von Turtle Island ist es unsere schon heute bestehenden Vernetzungen und Kooperationen mit anderen Institutionen im In- und Ausland und darüber hinaus eine Ver­flechtung und Förderung mit/von in-situ Projekten (innerhalb des Lebensraumes) auszubauen.

Über TURTLE ISLAND

Mag. Dr. Peter Praschag

Neben dem Zoo versuchen wir weltweit Arten, die in der Natur in Ihrem Bestand bedroht und kaum mehr vorhanden sind, aufzufinden und eine Nachzucht zu ermöglichen. Ohne diesen Einsatz wären schon viele wunderbare Schildkrötenarten weltweit ausgestorben.

Mag. Dr. Peter PraschagInitiator & Gründer TURTLE ISLAND
DI Dr. Reiner Praschag

In gut 40 Jahren haben wir in Graz – mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung meines Sohnes Peter – eine der weltweit größten und bedeutendsten Schildkrötensammlungen mit fast 100 Arten aufgebaut. Viele Arten darunter sind heute in der Natur in ihrem Bestand bedroht und kaum mehr greifbar.

DI Dr. Reiner PraschagInitiator & Gründer TURTLE ISLAND
Dr. Dagmar Schratter

Die Förderung des Naturschutzgedankens, das Schaffen eines erhöhten Natur- und Umweltbewusstseins und die aktive Teilnahme und Durchführung von Natur- und Artenschutz-Projekten sind heute zentrale Anliegen Zoologischer Gärten.

Dr. Dagmar SchratterDirektorin des Tiergartens Schönbrunn
Prof. Dr. Helmut Pechlaner

Das vorliegende Projekt ist faszinierend und verdient jede Unterstützung, es liefert der Landeshauptstadt Graz eine einzigartige Attraktion für die Bevölkerung und die Gäste …

Prof. Dr. Helmut PechlanerEhrenpräsident des WWFs Österreich

DANKE, an unsere Partner …

 
partner_tierpark-schoenbrunn
partner_Haus-des-Meeres
partner_IUCN
partner_TSA
partner_dreiD
partner_petstop